Instagram has been testing and rolling out a couple of new features lately. The latest change they’ve made will not make you happy if you don’t like your online status to show. Instagram now allows your followers to see when you’re online and shows them the last time you were active. If you’re uncomfortable with this, it seems they thought of you: you can turn the feature off.
The new “Activity Status” feature is viewable in Direct Messages. Similar to Facebook, your followers can see when the last time you were online was. An important thing to add is that the following needs to go both ways so people can see your online activity. If you don’t follow them back- they can’t see your online status.
Another thing that goes both ways is turning off the activity status. In the Settings section of Instagram, you can turn the feature off and hide your status from other users. But if you do it, you don’t get to see their status, either.
The Activity Status is turned on by default. To turn it off, go to Options > Settings and simply tap the “switch.”
Unlike “Recommended for You” feature, which you can hide only temporarily, Activity Status remains disabled until you decide to turn it on again.
Personally, I’m not too comfortable with people having an insight into my online activity (I wish that “Seen” option was also never invented). I have no particular reason, I simply don’t like it. So, I turned Instagram’s new Activity Feature off. Will you do it too, or you don’t mind your online status to show?
[via Digital Trends]