Canon Irista, the company’s photo storage and sharing website, is shutting down. If you have been using it to store and share your images, you may want to download them if you don’t have them stored elsewhere. Because in January 2020, all content is going to be deleted from Canon’s servers forever.
Canon published the news on Irista’s front page, with a link to the FAQ and a button for downloading your images. The company notes that the website will be shut down on 31 January 2020. Until that date, all your photos, videos, and personal data will remain on Irista. But after that, they will all be deleted. “If you want to save your photos and videos, you can download them to your computer. This may take time, so get started as soon as possible,” Canon notes.
It’s worth noting that your Canon ID won’t be affected when Irista shuts down. You can still use it to sign in to other Canon services. While you can save your photos and videos by downloading it, that’s not the case with other data on Irista. All your tags, photo ratings, titles, and albums will be deleted along with the website.
But will there be a replacement to Canon Irista? Judging from the FAQ page, no, there won’t. At least Canon doesn’t plan to replace Irista directly. “Canon is always developing new digital imaging solutions and we’re looking forward to sharing our plans with you shortly,” Canon writes. So, it’s possible that there will be some other solution, but for now, we don’t know what it will be.
So, if you have been using Canon Irista, make sure to download your content before 31 January 2020, especially if you don’t have them stored elsewhere. For more information, make sure to check out Canon’s FAQ page about Irista’s shutdown.