Last week, Instagram announced a new feature that allows users to log into multiple accounts at the same time. As part of this, users were able to receive notifications from all accounts they were logged in to.
If you’ve downloaded InstaAgent, an iOS and Android app designed to let you see who’s viewed your Instagram profile, you might want to delete it from your smartphone. According to a new report, the app – whose full name is ‘Who Viewed Your Profile – InstaAgent’ – is not only storing usernames and passwords in plaintext and sending them to a remote server, but also using those very credentials to log in and post unwanted images to users’ profiles.
InstaAgent has since been removed from both the Google Play Store and iOS App Store, but so long as it’s on your phone, it can still send your information.[Read More…]